Econet’s Kwesé signs sports content deal with ESPN

Since launch sometimes last year, Kwesé, a unique Pay TV service from Econet, has signed a couple of content deals for the pleasure of its viewers across Africa.

It acquired the rights to air Premier League matches across sub-Saharan Africa in March 2016, and partnered ESPN Media Distribution in July 2016 to air NFL matches.

Today, it has announced the signing of yet another sports content deal with ESPN which will see it deliver the most comprehensive sports coverage in Africa.

It will offer a wide range of sports and thousands of hours of programming from ESPN, the world’s leading sports media company.

The deal will also see ESPN produce daily Sports Center updates for Africa, bringing the iconic sports news and highlights brand to the channel.

“Ultimately our goals are the same, to bring fans the best in global sports. The synergies between Kwesé and ESPN allow us to achieve that goal by leveraging our collective ability to deliver premium African and global sports programming to sports fans across Africa,” said Joseph Hundah, Chief Executive Officer of Econet Media.

He added, “We look forward to collaborating with ESPN in Africa and providing African sports fans with access to global sports like never before.”

The deal will also see Kwesé air key programmes such as Live Sports, which includes US College Basketball, and Original programming, which includes ESPN Films Award-Winning 30 For 30 documentaries.

The deal will come into effect in early 2017 with the launch of an ESPN channel in 19 countries [1] where Kwesé is operational. Its customers can access these new contents via its app or website, and on both paid and free-to-air TV.

Executive Vice President and Managing Director, ESPN International, Russell Wolff said, “ESPN’s focus around the world is simple: to serve sports fans. This long-term collaboration across television and digital media will do just that — serve millions of sports fans across Africa with exceptional products, content and coverage.”

[1] They are Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Swaziland, South Sudan, Sierra Leone, Tanzania (including Zanzibar), Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Sponsored Links

Related posts